Holy See (Vatican City)

Official Country Name
Holy See (Vatican City)

Holy See (Vatican City) Overview
Popes in their secular role ruled portions of the Italian peninsula for more than a thousand years until the mid 19th century, when many of the Papal States were seized by the newly united Kingdom of Italy. In 1870, the pope's holdings were further circumscribed when Rome itself was annexed. Disputes between a series of "prisoner" popes and Italy were resolved in 1929 by three Lateran Treaties, which established the independent state of Vatican City and granted Roman Catholicism special status in Italy. In 1984, a concordat between the Holy See and Italy modified certain of the earlier treaty provisions, including the primacy of Roman Catholicism as the Italian state religion. Present concerns of the Holy See include religious freedom, international development, the Middle East, terrorism, interreligious dialogue and reconciliation, and the application of church doctrine in an era of rapid change and globalization. About 1 billion people worldwide profess the Catholic faith.

Holy See (Vatican City) Economy
This unique, noncommercial economy is supported financially by an annual contribution from Roman Catholic dioceses throughout the world (known as Peter's Pence); by the sale of postage stamps, coins, medals, and tourist mementos; by fees for admission to museums; and by the sale of publications. Investments and real estate income also account for a sizable portion of revenue. The incomes and living standards of lay workers are comparable to those of counterparts who work in the city of Rome.

Holy See (Vatican City) Location
Holy See (Vatican City) is located in Southern Europe, an enclave of Rome (Italy)

Holy See (Vatican City) is located in Europe

Holy See (Vatican City) Population
Holy See (Vatican City) has population of 932 (July 2006 est.)

Holy See (Vatican City) Climate
Holy See (Vatican City) has temperate; mild, rainy winters (September to May) with hot, dry summers (May to September)

Holy See (Vatican City) Terrain
urban; low hill

Holy See (Vatican City) Natural Resources

Ethnic Groups in Holy See (Vatican City)
Holy See (Vatican City) has the following ethnic groups - Italians, Swiss, other

Holy See (Vatican City) Religions
Roman Catholic

Holy See (Vatican City) Languages
Italian, Latin, French, various other languages

Holy See (Vatican City) Capital
Holy See (Vatican City) capital is Vatican City

Holy See (Vatican City) Currency
Holy See (Vatican City) currency is Euro

Map of Holy See (Vatican City)